Reviews



Lovely place - Rating 5/5

We stayed here in September as part of a few days away and a trip to Longleat safari parkThe room and facilities were very well presented and the owners were very friendly and accommodatingI\'ll certainly be staying here again if we plan another trip to the area

Response

Thank you for being great guests

Reviewer:Tony Chamberlain | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Mr - Rating 5/5

Dear Richard, A bit late, but it’s never too late to pay people a compliment and that’s what I want to do.We stayed with you and your partner in your beautiful home at the end of August. I was with a friend of mine and we were going to a gay tantra retreat nearby.You suggested to go and have a look in Wells, and we did. BEAUTIFUL! Magnificent cathedral and there was an (art) market going on as well where we bought some objects. What a perfect start of our stay in the UK.You were so kind and friendly and we absolutely LOVED our stay! Your beds are still talked about, soooo good! The room was lovely, breakfast super, etc.So, can we write a revieuw somewhere on the net? If so, please could you send me a link. I will be very happy to do so. Thank you once again for your hospitality and we will certainly return next year!! With kind greetings,Rob van der Meule

Response

Thank you guys .We enjoyed your stay too

Reviewer:Rob Van der Meule | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Richard & Michael,Just a short note to tell you how much we enjoyed our 2 nights' stay at your lovely place in Shepton Mallet ! It was much too short ...We really appreciated the great attention to detail and the well decorated rooms.In our bedroom, everything was well thought of:from freshly ground coffee, a nice selection of tea, a lovely range of biscuits, wonderful mint chocolates to tasteful, homegrown apples...Everything was immaculate in the bathroom:lovely, soft and very large bathtowels, bathropes and even slippers and also a nice selection of toiletries. The round shower cubicle was very comfortable to use (plenty of hot water too!) and it was lovely to have a soft shower mat to step onto when coming out of the shower. Plenty of space to put wet towels too! Our freshly cooked breakfast made a very good start of the day! The choice is amazing... I certainly appreciated the bowl of freshly cut fruit and the smooth Greek yoghurt with honey. The freshly brewed coffee was superb ...Your cottage garden is very pretty and attractive. It's a pity we didn't have some more time to enjoy on your little patio (under the parasol !) with a glass of bubbles !The Dusthole pub was a bit of a downside but the meal on the second evening in the family-run restaurant made up for it ...!!! (Thanks for walking us there, Michael!!) Thanks once again for the warm welcome ! We will certainly recommend you to our friends and we will try and come and stay with you again when we are in the area. It's a pity it's too far away from where we live in Belgium to come over for a weekend ... but still if you have any good offers going, please don't hesitate to let us know !!Congrats with your concept, guys, it is much appreciated ! Keep up the good work !

Response

Thank you so much xx

Reviewer:Kaat Desmet | Mon 11th Sep 2017


Superb Accomodation - Rating 5/5

Maplestone Hall is possibly the best establishment we have stayed in. Superb room well appointed and decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast was outstanding and the owners could not do enough for you. If you need a room in or around Somerset and you do not stay here you are quiet frankly stupid.

Response

Thank you so much x

Reviewer:Philip Siviter | Mon 21st Aug 2017


The most wonderful welcome- Rating 5/5

Fantastic attention to detail. Lovely room, great water pressure huge towels!Breakfast was great too

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Eric Collins | Thu 27th Jul 2017


The most wonderful welcome- Rating 5/5

Fantastic attention to detail. Lovely room, great water pressure huge towels!Breakfast was great too

Reviewer:Eric Collins | Thu 27th Jul 2017


Great B&B, fantastic hosts!! - Rating 5/5

The cottage was excellent, very, very clean, neat and comfortable. Thanks guys for looking after us, loved your company.

Response

Thank you for being great guests RX

Reviewer:Mark Thompson | Fri 21st Jul 2017


Absolutely fabulous- Rating 5/5

Delightful and extremely well appointed accomodation combined with charming hosts make Maplestone Hall perfect in every way.

Response

Thank you so much

Reviewer:Lorrelle CAPORN | Mon 5th Jun 2017


An enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful room with fabulous decor and very thoughtful little touches including fresh milk and chocolate mints. A well cooked breakfast and delicious coffee. I will definitely be returning next year.

Response

thank you so much RX

Reviewer:Sally Pritchard | Sun 4th Jun 2017


One of the best places I have had the pleasure to stay at. - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and ideal location for town and showground I stayed here for 4 nights. Easy parking and very private. Both hosts made me very welcome, breakfast was excellent and the bed in my room gave me a full nights sleep every night, just what I wanted for my day ahead.

Reviewer:Michael Biggs | Sun 4th Jun 2017


What a lovely cottage - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Maplestone Hall. The rooms are lovely with fantastic facilities. And the full English can\'t be beaten!! Would definitely reccomend

Response

Thx guys we enjoyed your stay too

Reviewer:Mr. Alex Hancock | Mon 21st Nov 2016


A very recommendable hotel. - Rating 0/5

We stayed in September 2016 at Somerset in Richard and Michaels hotel. Sooo beautiful! The hotel has a very personal touch and the old and new elements in the design of the house have a special atmosphere. The surrounding garden seems almost enchanted. We have on request a very good vegetarian breakfast and the two have surprised us for dinner with delicious, varied vegetarian dishes accompanied by classical music. Richard and Michael are so attentive and sympathetic hosts. Thanks for that! A very recommendable hotel. We warmly greet Richard and Michael in the United Kingdom.

Response

Hello our German friends . Thank you soo much for your splendid review x

Reviewer:Brigitte und Hans Metzmacher | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Beautiful place - Rating 5/5

Maplestone is a beautiful warm place to stay.We stayed in the Cottage which was quite spacious with its own living room and large bathroom.The bed was very comfortable which made for a great nights sleep.Richard and Michael (the owners) presented a great breakfast and were very keen to help with local knowledge.I definitely would stay again

Response

Thank guys it was so nice to meet you both x

Reviewer:Mrs. Samantha Jackson | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Maplestone Hall with a girlfriend as we were visiting gardens in the area. Richard and Michael were the most marvelous hosts in every way. So kind and such fun. The house has been sensitively and beautifully renovated and is SO comfortable and clean. The garden is magical. We were lucky enough that Richard and Michael cooked the most delicious food for us in the eveningin addition to a divine breakfast which we lingered over before reluctantly setting off home. It is a great area to visit and i could not recommend it more highly. It is a must to visit

Response

Thank you so much it means a lot to us x

Reviewer:Jackie Fiducia | Sat 20th Aug 2016


Weekend at Maplestone - Rating 4/5

My wife and I had a most pleasant weekend stay at Maplestone. The room and ensuite bathroom were large, comfortably furnished and pleasant. Donald and Gillian were excellent hosts and the breakfast was superb!The only downside was that there were a number of uneven steps to negotiate to reach the room but, otherwise, it could not have been better. We shall return.John & Liz Ware

Reviewer:Mr. John Ware | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat